That was then
1963 - The year commenced with an enrolment of 144 students from Form III
(year 9) to Form VI (year 12). There were 8 teaching staff members, including the principal.
Students were still required to travel to the Rural School for Manual Training and Home Science.
Initially there was only one building (known today as A Block) and then, later in the year, a second building (now known as B Block) was completed.
Two years after moving to Ruge Street from its original position where the Proserpine Entertainment Centre now stands, the “high school” was officially recognised as a state high school with the appointment of Principal, Mr J H Bowen.
This is now
2019 – The year commenced with 1079 students, over 100 teaching staff and 40 support staff.
We now boast 15 buildings, plus a multi-purpose hall, student advisory centre, undercover eating and playing areas, with state of the art academic, sporting and cultural facilities.